Industry Press Releases

The IOC, IPC and IAKS award international architecture prizes

Thursday, Oct 29, 2015

Presentation ceremony on 27 October in Cologne

Smiling faces among this year's winners of the international architecture awards for sports and leisure facilities. At the festive gala on 27 October 2015, the International Olympic Committee (IOC), the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) and the International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS) present the much-coveted medals for exemplary architecture.

Prize-winning projects in 15 countries

Composed of international personalities, the jury for the 2015 IOC/IAKS Award is commending 3 facilities with Gold, 7 with Silver and 14 with Bronze. The IPC/IAKS Distinction for accessible sports facilities is going to 4 participants. The prize-winning projects can be found in 15 countries worldwide. A total of 130 projects in 30 countries have participated in this year's competition.

Special achievements

The most successful architects of the competition are KEINGART – space activators in Denmark, the creative minds behind the Athletics Exploratorium in Odense (Gold) and Tornhøjhallen in Aalborg (Bronze). In addition, Ruben Reddy Architects from South Africa are receiving both the IOC/IAKS Award in Silver and the IPC/IAKS Distinction for the Bolshoy Ice Dome in Sochi.

Canada and Switzerland are the most successful nations, claiming a total of four prizes each. Two sports facilities for the London Olympics are among the winners: the London Aquatics Centre from Zaha Hadid Architects and the London 2012 Shooting Venue from magma architecture. Two FIFA World Cup stadia have also been awarded prizes: the Arena Fonte Nova in Salvador (Schulitz Architekten and Tetra Arquitetura) and the Beira-Rio Stadium in Porto Alegre (Hype Studio Arquitetura).

Architecture prizes for accessibility and for students

The IPC/IAKS Distinction commends the accessibility of sports facilities and other buildings so that people with disabilities have the opportunity to practise and watch sport without limitations or obstacles. 37 projects have been submitted for the IPC/IAKS Distinction. The 4 prize-winning facilities are located in Puerto Rico, Honduras, Canada and Russia.

The IOC, IPC and IAKS are also presenting, for the third time, the Architecture and Design Award for Students and Young Professionals for innovative designs and strategies for sports and leisure facilities. The competition is targeted at young architects, landscape architects and designers who are still studying or in the first two years of their careers.

This prize has attracted 43 young planners and designers from 19 countries. The jury is awarding a Gold medal to Cyprus and a Silver medal to Canada. Bronze is being awarded to Greece and to a project team from the United Kingdom, Singapore and the USA.

All the winning projects are being presented in the hot-off-the-press special issue of the magazine "sb" and to the interested public at the trade fair "Amenity Areas, Sports and Pool Facilities" (FSB).

Winners of the 2015 IOC/IAKS Awards


·    Athletics Exploratorium in Odense, Denmark
     Architects: KEINGART – space activators

·    Ciutadella Park Sports Centre in Barcelona, Spain
     Architects: Battle i Roig Arquitectes

·    Naturbad Riehen, Switzerland
     Architects: Herzog & de Meuron


·    London Aquatics Centre in London, United Kingdom
     Architects: Zaha Hadid Architects

·    Palais Thermal Pool in Bad Wildbad, Germany
     Architects: Kaufmann Theilig & Partner

·    Baths of Géronde in Sierre, Switzerland
     Architects: NAU

·    Sargans Sports Centre, Switzerland
     Architects: Blue Architects and Ruprecht Architekten

·    Bolshoy Ice Dome in Sochi, Russia
     Architects: Ruben Reddy Architects, SIC Mostovic

·    Prince Arthur's Landing in Thunder Bay, Canada
     Architects: Brook McIlroy Inc.

·    Arena Fonte Nova in Salvador, Brazil
     Architects: Schulitz Architekten and Tetra Arquitetura


·    Archery Hall and Boxing Club in Tokyo, Japan
     Architects: FT Architects

·    NCC Rideau Canal Skateway Facilities in Ottawa, Canada
     Architects: CSV Architects

·    London 2012 Shooting Venue, United Kingdom
     Architects: magma architecture Ostermann & Kleinheinz

·    Blocs & Walls Climbing Center in Copenhagen, Denmark
     Architects: Powerhouse Company

·    Regent Park Aquatic Centre in Toronto, Canada
     Architects: MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects

·    BG Zehnergasse in Vienna, Austria
     Architects: GABU Heindl Architektur

·    Centre sportif Jules Ladoumegue in Paris, France
     Architects: DFA Dietmar Feichtinger Architectes

·    Tornhøjhallen in Aalborg, Denmark
     Architects: KEINGART – space activators

·    Luanda Multisports Pavilion, Angola
     Architects: Berger Architects

·    Bossard Arena in Zug, Switzerland
     Architects: Scheitln Syfrig Architekten AG

·    Stade Léo Lagrange in Toulon, France
     Architects: archi5

·    Landhausplatz in Innsbruck, Austria
     Architects: LAAC Architects | Stiefel Kramer Architecture

·    Beira-Rio Stadium in Porto Alegre, Brazil
     Architects: Hype Studio Arquitetura

·    Friends Arena in Stockholm, Sweden
     Architects: C.F. Møller and Krook & Tjäder Arkitekter

Winners of the 2015 IPC/IAKS Distinction

·    Ray & Joan Kroc Community Center in Guayama, Puerto Rico
     Architects: SCF Architects

·    University Sports Complex in Tegucigalpa, Honduras
     Architects: Victor Cuadra Burlero + UNAH Department of Infrastructure

·    Edmonds Community Centre in Burnaby, Canada
     Architects: CEI Architecture

·    Bolshoy Ice Dome in Sochi, Russia
     Architects: Ruben Reddy Architects and SIC Mostovic
Winners of the 2015 Architecture and Design Award for Students and Young Professionals


·      Sports4Peace by Philippos Michael and Panayiotis Savva (Cyprus)


·      Actus by Vincent Morissette (Canada)


·      Athens Urban Park by Kallirroi Taroudaki and Antonia Vavanou (Greece)
·      Daegu Sports Court by Mauricio Vieto Perez (United Kingdom), Natalie Kwee (Singapore) and Caio Caesar Barboza (USA)

Your contact:

IAKS International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities
Mrs Silke Bardenheuer
Eupener Str. 70
50933 Cologne / Germany
Tel:    +49 221  / 168023-11  
Fax :   +49 221 / 168023-23

The International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS) was founded in Cologne/Germany in 1965. It is the only non-profit organization concerned globally with the subject of sports and leisure facility development and has been awarded the status of a Recognized Organization by the IOC. The IAKS makes up a global network of first-hand expertise for design, construction and management of sports and leisure facilities. The IAKS regularly holds specialized conferences and educational seminars. Since 1967, IAKS has been publishing “sb”, the world’s foremost specialist magazine for sports architecture and the construction, modernization and management of sports and leisure facilities.

Other Press Releases